Our Story

Our Story

Completely renovated in 2017, the Hotel Mercure’s restaurant has a new soul: a spacious and bright room, with a modern and urban decoration that is a reflection to the history of the city and its docks.

The Happy Dock team welcomes you every day of the week, for lunch and dinner.

Chef Fabrice Cappelle revisits the classics of European cuisine with fresh and local products: egg casserole, Happy Dock Burger with Camembert sauce from Normandy, catch of the day from the sea, roasted potatoes with salted butter caramel …
Everything is homemade.

For an aperitif: you can sip cocktails, beers and wines with our charcuterie assortments and AOP cheeses to share.
A pool table and football table are also available for a good time, with family or friends at the Happy Dock.

Our Culinary philosophy in a few words

Quality and accessibility, these are our key words at The Happy Dock! Indeed, our ambition is to offer you a cuisine that is both generous and affordable. We select the best fresh and local products to offer quality cuisine.

We work together with local producers to promote our products and serve a home and seasonal cuisine.

The Team

THE WORD OF THE CHEF

Passionate, ambitious and full of humor: this is probably what characterizes me the most! My passion for cooking, my many years of experience and my taste for challenges led me to the joysticks of the Happy Dock kitchen. Since my arrival in the adventure, I share my joy and passion in cooking! I enjoy revisiting the classics of European cuisine with a Norman touch. My cuisine is local and seasonal, everything is fresh and homemade, and this is what I like.

The products that I cook do not have any secret for me. You can ask me anything on the culinary theory. I even teach it to the children in extracurricular activities, because I estimate that it is essential to know well the products which one cooks with (their origin, molecular transformations during cooking, pH, etc.). Cooking is both a science and an art!

The restaurant has been completely renovated, the atmosphere is warm: I feel good inside it and it’s a pleasure for me to cook here! My ambition is to make you feel the same pleasure during the tasting. My team and I work diligently to present you the best dishes. All you have to do is come and taste them!

Chef Fabrice Cappelle

THE MANAGER’S WORD

Since the begginning of this new adventure named happy Dock, my aim was to open a unique, friendly and greedy place where people of Le Havre can feel home.

Fabrice CAPPELLE, our Chef offers a simple and seasonal cuisine, made with local products.

Happy Dock rewrites the traditional codes as much by its decoration as by the organization of lifestyle events, to be more than a restaurant: a real living place.

Our priority to my team and me, is to make you happy why making us happy too!

Happy Dock - photo directrice - Restaurant Le Havre

Notre histoire

Notre histoire

Entièrement rénové en 2017, le restaurant de l’hôtel Mercure s’est doté d’une nouvelle âme : une salle spacieuse et lumineuse, avec une décoration moderne et urbaine qui fait un clin d’oeil à l’histoire de la ville et de ses docks.

L’équipe de Happy Dock vous accueille tous les jours de la semaine, midi et soir.

Le Chef Fabrice Cappelle revisite les classiques de la cuisine européenne avec des produits frais et du terroir : œuf cocotte, Happy Dock Burger avec sauce au camembert de Normandie, pêche du jour, pommes rôties au caramel au beurre salé…
Tout est fait maison.

Pour l’apéritif : vous pourrez siroter cocktails, bières et vins avec nos planches de charcuterie et de fromages AOP à partager.
Un billard et un babyfoot sont également accessibles pour passer un bon moment, en famille ou entre amis chez Happy Dock.

Notre philosophie culinaire en quelques mots

Qualité et accessibilité, tels sont nos maîtres mots chez Happy Dock ! En effet, notre ambition est de vous offrir une cuisine à la fois généreuse et abordable. Nous sélectionnons les meilleurs produits frais et du terroir pour vous proposer une cuisine de qualité.

Nous collaborons au maximum avec les producteurs locaux pour valoriser nos produits et servir une cuisine maison et de saison.

L’équipe

LE MOT DU CHEF

Passionné, ambitieux et plein d’humour : voilà sans doute ce qui me caractérise le plus ! Ma passion pour la cuisine, mes nombreuses années d’expérience et mon goût pour les défis m’ont conduit aux manettes de la cuisine de Happy Dock. Depuis mon arrivée dans l’aventure, je m’en donne à cœur joie en cuisine !
Je m’amuse à revisiter les classiques de la cuisine européenne avec une touche normande. Ma cuisine est locale et de saison, tout est frais et fait maison, et c’est ce que j’aime.

Les ingrédients que je travaille n’ont pas de secret pour moi : incollable sur la théorie culinaire, je l’enseigne même aux enfants en périscolaire car j’estime qu’il est essentiel de bien connaître les produits que l’on cuisine (leur origine, les transformations moléculaires à la cuisson, le pH etc.). La cuisine est à la fois une science et un art !

Le restaurant a été entièrement rénové, l’ambiance y est chaleureuse : je m’y sens bien et c’est un plaisir pour moi de cuisiner ici ! J’ai pour ambition de vous faire ressentir ce même plaisir lors de la dégustation. Mon équipe et moi-même travaillons assidûment pour vous présenter les meilleurs plats. Il ne vous reste plus qu’à venir les goûter !

Chef Fabrice Cappelle

LE MOT DE LA GÉRANTE

Depuis le début de cette nouvelle aventure nommée Happy Dock, ma volonté est d’ouvrir un lieu unique, convivial et gourmand que les Havrais puissent s’approprier.
Fabrice Cappelle, notre Chef de cuisine propose une cuisine simple, de saison élaborée avec des produits locaux.
Happy Dock bouscule les codes tant par sa décoration que par l’organisation de différents évènements pour y faire plus qu’un restaurant, un véritable lieu de vie.
Notre priorité à mon équipe et moi-même est de vous faire plaisir tout en nous faisant plaisir également !

Valérie Roy

Happy Dock - photo directrice - Restaurant Le Havre